Schools To Be Upgraded Under RMSA

IMPHAL, Mar 16: Along with upgradation of 69 junior high school schools in the nine districts of the State to High School level, 536 Graduate Teachers are set to be appointed on contractual engagement.

Upgradation of schools and appointment of Graduate Teachers on contractual engagement are to be effected to ensure free and compulsory education to students of class IX and X under Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA).

Of the 69 Junior High Schools which have been proposed for upgradation to High School level, six are located in Imphal West, four in Imphal East, eight in Thoubal, one in Bishnupur, 15 in Ukhrul, 12 in Senapati, six in Tamenglong, seven in Churachandpur and eight in Chandel district.

Of the 536 Graduate teachers to be appointed on contractual engagement in these upgraded schools, the number of Art Graduate teachers to be appointed is 201, Science Graduate teachers 134, Mathematics Graduate teachers 67 and another 67 English Graduate teachers. While in Language Graduate teachers, the number of teachers to be appointed is respectively one each for Manipuri and Bengali, 12 for Additional English,  two for Nepali, 17 for Tangkhul, 6 for Rongmei, 3 for Hmar, 6 for Paite and another six for Thadou Kuki.

Addressing a press conference in this connection at the Babupara office of RMSA today, Commissioner of Education (S) Dr Suresh said that these special measures have been taken up by the Government for development of adequate infrastructures in school education vis-a-vis implementation of schemes like Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan and Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan that envisage to provide free and compulsory education to every child.

Quoting a survey report of District Information System on Education, Dr Suresh explained that out of every 100 school going children in primary and upper primary level in Manipur, four of them dropped out of school from one reason or the other. So, the main objective of SSA and RMSA is to ensure compulsory education of these drop-out students and their enrolment in school again.

Observing that Government alone would not be able to ensure the success of SSA and RMSA, he also stressed on the responsibility of School Management Committee, Village Management Committee and the parents in this regard.

Call attention motion: As formation of Ward Development Committees under the provisions of Manipur Municipality Community Participation Act, 2010 is yet to be completed, no notification for inviting proposal for work programs has been issued as of now, Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh, who is also in charge of MAHUD, informed the State Assembly today.

Responding to a call attention motion on formation of Ward Development Committee raised by MLA O Joy of MPP in the Assembly today, the Chief Minister said that the election to eight Municipal Councils and 18 Nagar Panchayats had been conducted and new Councils are supposed to be constituted after 21 days of the election. However, as the election had been conducted rather hastily following implementation of Manipur Municipal Community Participation Act, some of the Municipal Councils have been found to have not yet completed their respective five-year term.

So, efforts were being made for promulgating an ordinance to affect reconstitution of the Councils after 45 days when the schedule of the by-election to the 18-Konthoujam Assembly Constituency announced, thus delaying the process of constituting new Councils, the Chief Minister explained.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.