National Dedication Day

IMPHAL, Apr 11: Commemorating the 161st death anniversary of Maharaja Narasingh, National Dedication Day, 2011 was observed under the aegis of Maharaj Narasingh Memorial Committee, Imphal at Kangla Fort here today.

Lok Sabha MP Dr Th Meinya Singh led the people in laying floral wreaths at the memorial of Maharaja Narasingh located inside the Kangla Fort where ceremonial rites and rituals were also performed amid performance of Sankirtan by Guru N Shyamchand Singh and his artistes.

Guard of Honor, Gun Salute, Reverse Arms, Sounding of Last Post, observance of two minute silence, Slope Arms and Order Arms by a contingent of Manipur Rifles, offering of Tarpan in memory of the patriots of Seven Years Devastation, etc were other highlights of the commemoration, which also saw release of a souvenir by MP Dr Meinya, who attended the function as chief guest. Presided over by retired IAS officer E Sonamani Singh, the function was also presided over by retired IAS officer E Sonamani Singh, the function was also attended by former Education Minister and retired Lt Col Haobam Bhubon Singh and Padmashree RK Jhalajit Singh as guests of honor.

The dignitaries who graced the function also presented awards to various outstanding personalities/institutions in appreciation of their achievement and contribution to Manipuri society.

The Atolchou Sana (1877-1956) Mana  which carries a cash reward of Rs 5000 and a certificate was presented to Pung artiste Kshetrimayum Godadhar, Narajit Sana (1906-1993) Award carrying a cash reward of Rs 5000 and a certificate to Sumitra Phurailatpam who secured top position in M Sc Agriculture, Manisana (1902-1974) Award carrying a cash reward of Rs 10,000 and a certificate to ASI Okram Binoychandra and Konthoujam Gojendra Mana carrying a cash reward of Rs 5000 and a certificate to Lengkholal Kipgen, who is a teacher.

Moreover, Thokchom Birahari (1908-1976) Mana of Rs 10,000 with certificate was presented to the Children Home of WIGC Thoubal, RK Imocha (1960-2006) Mana of Rs 5000 with certificate to Taekwondo Academy and Sanjenbam Binodini (1923-2007) Mana of Rs 5000 with certificate to Sylvia Keisham, who is a student. Later, addressing the gathering, MP Dr Meinya pointed out that Maharaja Narasingh was an exemplary figure who contributed his mite in the administration of Manipur till his last breath. His name would be always counted among other brave sons of the soil like Jubaraj Tikendrajit, Ananta Sai, Herachandra, Narendrajit alias Sana Chahi Ahum, Chingayangba Binidram, Shyamshai Khurai Lakpa, etc when people turn the historical pages of Manipur. The bravery, dedication and sacrificial spirit of these brave sons of Manipur should be emulated by the present generation and walk in the path shown by them, Dr Meinya exhorted.

In his presidential address, Sonamani assured that efforts would be made for making the commemorative function even bigger in the years to come.  He also sought the co-operation of the people in this regard.

As part of the observance function, Dr N Birachandra Singh, who is a Reader (History) in Lilong Haoreibi College presented an oration on the topic of ’Maharaja Narasingh’s spirit of dedication’.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.