IMC Polls: Results For 13 Wards Declared, Cong Leads With 7 Under Its Belt

Counting of votes for IMC underway. Image Credit: Sangai Photo

IMPHAL, May 29: The counting is yet to be over, but the Congress has already surged ahead in the election to the Imphal Municipal Council, winning seven of the 13 wards, for which results were declared at the time of filing this report late in the evening.

Counting for Imphal West stopped at 8 pm today and will resume tomorrow, while for Imphal East, the counting is still going on, till the time of filing this report late in the evening today.

Independent candidates perhaps have sprung a major surprise, with three of them declared elected out of the 13 wards.

BJP, NCP and Trinamool Congress followed with one ward apiece.

The Congress tasted victory in ward number 1 (Soraisam Binarani Devi), ward number 5 (Ph Baleswor), ward number 12 (A Romakanta), ward number 13 (N Raghumani), ward number 18 (A Nimai Sharma), ward number 21 (Ksh Umesh) and ward number 20 (L Tombi Devi).

The three successful independent candidates are Thokchom Purnachandra (ward number 2); Hijam Nutanchandra (ward number 3) and Ngaminlun Kipgen (ward number 22).

The BJP managed to win in ward number 19 (Yumlembam Rabikanta), NCP in ward number 11 (Pheiroijam Memchatombi Devi) and Trinamul Congress in ward number 15 (Leishangthem Gyanendra).

Election was held in 26 wards out of the 27 wards as one candidate had already been declared elected unopposed.

Polling was held across the 26 wards on May 25 and for the first time in the history of the IMC, voters got to elect ward members besides the Councilors.

According to the new dispensation, two ward members were elected from each ward. The ward members who were elected include, Yendrembam Premila and Ajit Panmei (ward number 1), Thokchom Suresh and Ngangbam Dhananjoy (ward number 2), Thangjam Manimala Devi (ward number 3), Mongjam Arunkumar and L Shantikumar (ward number 11), Khangembam Dilip and Wahengbam Tomba (ward number 18), Thongam Govind and Phanjoubam Chidananda (ward number 19), Khuraijam Bhogen and Huidrom Noren (ward number 20) and Abdul Helim (ward number 22).

Till the time of filing this report, the MPP was yet to open its account.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Recent Posts

Comments are closed.