IMC Polls: Independents Put Up Credible Show, INC Scores 14 Out Of 27, TC Debuts With One Seat

IMPHAL, May 30:  With the counting of votes for Imphal Municipal Council (IMC) elections completed, Congress party has succeeded in securing the majority.

Out of 27 IMC wards, Congress candidates won in 14 wards.

While NCP won in two wards, CPI, BJP and All India Trinamool Congress got one seat each. Independents won in six wards.

Significantly the oldest regional political party in the State, the Manipur Peoples’ Party did not nominate any candidate for the election.

Two more independent candidates who supported the Congress party were also victorious.

Overjoyed at the Congress party reaching the majority mark of 14, MPCC president Gaikhangam has conveyed gratitude to the people residing within Imphal Municipal Council.

Speaking to media persons at Congress Bhavan today, Gaikhangam said that the Congress could achieve absolute majority because of people’s love and trust in Congress party and people’s satisfaction with the development programs taken up by the Congress-led SPF Government.

In addition to the 14 Congress candidates elected as IMC Councilors, two Councilors elected from Ward No 16 and Ward No 17 of Singjamei Assembly Constituency is supporting the Congress party. As such, the Congress party has 16 Councilors, Gaikhangam said.

He exuded confidence that a Congress-led Council can be set up very soon.

Talking about the Congress candidates who lost the IMC elections, Gaikhangam said that only one Congress candidate was fielded in each Ward after scrutinizing all the aspiring candidates who wanted to contest the elections under Congress ticket.

Those who could not get Congress tickets joined the fray as independent candidates and they succeeded in winning the elections because most of the contesting candidates are Congress workers, Gaikhangam said.

As other political parties won only in one or two seats, the Council has virtually no Opposition.

Referring to the thumping victory of Congress in the IMC elections, the MPCC president claimed that Congress can win absolute majority in the 10th Assembly elections scheduled next year to remain in power for the third successive term.

The Congress led SPF Government is in its second term in power and it won three of the four by elections held with the exception of Konthoujam AC.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.