I/E Records 83.53 Percent Turn out, I/W 82.99 Percent As Sky Clears Fate Of 92 Candidates Sealed

Cops arrive to control the situation at 19/9-Mahabali Rongmei LP School of IMC ward no. 19 under Yaiskul AC. Image Credit: Sangai Photo

IMPHAL, May 25: Save for some incidents of violence witnessed in polling station number 19/9-Mahabali Rongmei LP School of IMC ward no. 19 under Yaiskul Assembly Constituency of Imphal East district, elections to the 27-seat Imphal Municipal Council and 53 Ward members passed off peacefully today amid decent security measures in all the polling stations across the two capital districts.

With the sky clearing after a few days of non-stop rain, voters started turning up to cast their votes from morning in the two districts of Imphal East and Imphal West.

The voter turnout was recorded as 83.53 pc in Imphal East while in Imphal West; the turnout was pegged at 82.99 pc, according to the State election office.

Even though IMC has 27 wards in total election in one of the wards was not held today as the seat has already been decided without contest.

Polling activities began from 8 am and ended at 4 in the evening with the exception of a few polling stations where the exercise concluded nearly three hours ahead of schedule as number of electorates were minimal.

In polling station No 25/3 of Ward No 25, which falls under Imphal West district a young female voter was denied her first vote in the electoral process as the age she declared upon entry did not match with the 35-year old elector mentioned in the electoral roll.

In Imphal East district, fate of 20 Councilor-aspirants and 58 candidates for Members’ post were sealed by a total of 47,758 electors out of which female voters comprised of 25,034 compared to 22,758 males.

The least number of votes in the district was cast in Ward No 23, which had seven polling stations while maximum franchise was recorded at Ward No 26 where polling took place in 14 polling stations.

Compared to a total of 5293 votes cast in Ward No 23, out of which 2751 were female voters, Ward No 26 polled a total of 9981, including 5212 females.

Results will be declared from May 29 onward as the counting process from this day will decide the fate of 92 candidates.

Moreover, 218 candidates are also in the fray for the post of 53 Ward Committee members. Two Ward Committee Members are to be elected from each of the 27 IMC wards.

Out of the total number of candidates for the Councilors’ seat 10 are BJP nominees while the Congress contested in 25 wards.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.