Monday, December 9, 2019 6:12 pm IST

Home » Headlines » Iboton Phanjoubam Makes Sangeet Natak Cut

Iboton Phanjoubam Makes Sangeet Natak Cut

NEW DELHI, Jan 20: Hindustani vocalist Girija Devi and Kuchipudi dancer Nataraj Ramakrishna were today selected as fellows of Sangeet Natak Akademi for their contribution to performing arts.

The Akademi also announced the awards for 38 artistes in the field of music, dance, theatre and puppetry which include music writer Ashok D Ranade and theatre personality Jaidev Taneja for their overall contribution.

82-year-old Devi, a Padma Bhushan winner who belongs to the Banaras gharana, and 78-year-old Ramakrishna, who also wrote a number of books on dance, have joined the club of 34 fellows of the Akademi with their selection.

Nine each award were given in the field of music and dance for the year 2010 while 16 were selected for awards in the categories of traditional folk, tribal dance, puppetry and theatre. The dancers who won the award are Malabika Mitra (Kathak), Kalamandalam Kombil Govindan Nair (Kathakali), Phanjoubam Iboton Singh (Manipuri), Ratna Kumar (Kuchipudi), Aruna Mohanty (Odissi), Manik Borbayan (Sattriya), Uttara Asha Coorlawala (Creative and Experimental Dance), Kalamandalam Painkulam Rama Chakyar (Other Major Traditions of Dance & Dance Theatre ‘“ Kutiyattam) and S Rajeshwari (Music for Dance – Bharatanatyam).

In the field of theatre, eight eminent persons have been selected for Akademi awards. They are D Vizai Bhaskar (Telugu) and Atamjeet Singh (Punjabi) for playwriting, Veenapani Chawla and Urmil Kumar Thapaliyal for direction and Dilip Prabhavalkar, Banwari Taneja, Maya Krishna Rao and Swatilekha Sengupta for acting.

The awardees in music section include Chhannu Lal Mishra and Yashpal (Hindustani Vocal-Music), Budhaditya Mukherjee (Sitar) and Nityanand Haldipur (Flute) for (Hindustani Instrumental Music) and Suguna Purushothaman and Mysore Nagamani Srinath (Carnatic Vocal Music).

Others are Nagai R Muralidharan (Violin) and Srimushnam V Raja Rao (Mridangam) for Carnatic Instrumental Music and MV Simhachala Sastry (Harikatha) for Other Major Traditions of Music. Harbhajan Singh Namdhari for Gurbani Kirtan (Punjab), Nazeer Ahmed Khan Warsi and Naseer Ahmed Khan Warsi (Joint Award) for Qawwali (Andhra Pradesh), Dwijen Mukherjee for Rabindra Sangeet (West Bengal), T Somasundaram for Folk Dance (Tamil Nadu), Krishna Kumari for Folk Music- Bhakha (Jammu & Kashmir) have won the award in folk and tribal arts section.

Other winners in this section are Chanda Jagdish Tiwadi for Folk Theatre – Bharud (Maharashtra), K Chinna Anjannamma for Tolu Bommalata ‘“ Shadow Puppetry (Andhra Pradesh), and K V Ramakrishnan & K C Ramakrishnan (Joint Award) for Pava Kathakali ‘“ Glove Puppetry (Kerala).

(Courtesy: Press Trust of India)

Number of Views :1355

Related Sites:

*The Sangai Express- Largest Circulated News Paper In Manipur
*E-Pao! :: Complete e-platform for Manipuris

Share |

*All postings on this website are provided “AS IS” from the source duly mentioned at the end of the post. It comes with no warranties, and confer no rights. All entries in this website are the views/opinions of the writers and don’t necessarily reflect the view/opinion of ManipurOnline.

Leave a comment