Dr Meinya In Indian Delegation To Vietnam

NEW DELHI May 12: Seven-member Indian Parliamentary delegation led by Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar will leave for Vietnam tomorrow on a bilateral visit to enhance the ties between India and Vietnam which is the centre of India’s Look East Policy. The delegation will stay in Vietnam till May 17, 2011.

During the visit of a 12-member Vietnamese Parliamentary delegation led by the Chairman of the National Assembly of Vietnam HE. Nguyen Phu Trong from February 23 to 28 this year in India, the Chairman of the National Assembly of Vietnam extended an official invitation to the Speaker of Lok Sabha to visit Vietnam on a mutually convenient date.

Dr Thokchom Meinya,  Khekiho  Zhimoni, Rajya Sabha MP (NPF), Rajniti Prasad Rajya Sabha MP (RJD), Rajendra Agarwal, Lok Sabha MP (BJP), CM Chang, Lok Sabha MP (NPF) and Ramesh Rathod, Lok Sabha MP (TDP) are the members of the delegation.

During the visit, the Indian delegation will meet Pham Phuoang Thao, Chairperson of People’s Council of Ho Chi Minh City who is the head of the Ho Chi Minh City Provincial Assembly on May 14, members of Indian Business Chamber (INCHAM) in Vietnam on May 15, members of National Assembly of Vietnam led by National Assembly’s Chairman, HE Nguyen Phu Trong and the Prime Minister of Vietnam HE Nguyen Tan Dung on May 16 and the President of Vietnam Nguyen Minh Triet on May 17.

India and Vietnam had exchange of Parliamentary delegations in the past years.

A twenty-member Vietnamese Parliamentary delegation led by Nong Duc Manh, Chairman of the Vietnamese National Assembly visited India from April 20 to 26, 1994; a 14-member Parliamentary delegation led by Dang Quan, Vice- Chairman of the National Assembly from 19 to 25 December 1995, an 8-member Parliamentary delegation led by Dr Vu Dinh Cu, Vice-President of the National Assembly from March 13 to 21, 1999 and a 12-member Parliamentary delegation led by Ngayen Phu Trong, Chairman of the National Assembly from February 23 to 28 , 2011.

Parliamentary delegations from India visited Vietnam twice in the past.

A five-member Indian Parliamentary delegations team led by Somnath Chatterjee, Speaker of Lok Sabha from March 23 to 27, 2007.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express/ Manipur Info Centre)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.