Decks Cleared For Election To IMC

IMPHAL, May 24: With security and polling personnel on duty already at their respective polling stations, the stage is ready for the election to Imphal Municipal Council tomorrow to elect 26 Councilors and 53 ward committee members.

Of the total 27 wards under Imphal Municipal Council, the lone candidate in ward no. 25 has already been declared elected without contest. The polling therefore will be held in the remaining 26 wards spread over 242 polling stations starting from 8 am to 4 pm tomorrow.

As for the election of 54 members to Ward Development Committee, where two members will be elected from each ward, ward no. 24, where only one candidate has filed the nomination, would not participate in the election tomorrow.

In all, 92 candidates are in the fray for 26 seats of Councilors while 218 candidates for 53 seats of Ward Development Committee members.

In the IMC polls this time, Congress party has put up the highest number of candidates for councilors at 25 while BJP and NCP have put up their candidates in 10 wards each. Six candidates from the Trinamool Congress party are in the fray while CPI has four and MPCC and JDU one each. The number of Independent candidates in the fray is 36.

In all 1205 polling personnel, who would be deployed for duty in 241 polling stations spread across Imphal Municipal area comprising seven Assembly segments of Imphal East and Imphal West have been dispatched along with the required polling material to their respective polling stations from the Election Office at Lamphelpat by 10 am today.

The total number of voters in 20 wards under Imphal West and 7 wards under Imphal East is said to be 1,62,264. Of the total voters, 84,355 are female while 77,913 are male.

Around 2000 security personnel including police, VDF and Home Guards will be stationed in all the 241 polling stations to ensure smooth conduct of the election tomorrow.

Out of the total 241 polling stations, 40 polling stations have been declared hyper sensitive, another 125 as sensitive and accordingly necessary security measures have been put in place.

In case of re-polling, it will be held on May 27 and May 29 is scheduled for counting of the votes.

In all 71 candidates representing different political parties, including independents are in the fray for the election.

(Courtesy: The Sangai Express)

Share this post:

Related Posts

Comments are closed.